Skip to content
BuyShelf.net One clear way in to every guide

Tools & Garden

CRAFTSMAN 1/2-Inch Impact Guide: Cordless, Corded or Air?

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

CRAFTSMAN is one of the best-known American tool brands, and its 1/2-inch impact wrenches are a common first “serious” tool for people starting to work on their own cars. An impact wrench is a power tool that spins a socket with rapid hammer-like blows, which is how it breaks loose tight lug nuts and suspension bolts that a regular ratchet struggles with. If you typed craftman impact 1/2 into a search bar, the main decision is how you want to power it: battery, wall cord, or compressed air.

The four CRAFTSMAN products below include a cordless, a corded and an air impact wrench plus an impact socket set, and the wrenches differ mainly in power source, torque and weight.

CRAFTSMAN 1/2-Inch Impact Wrenches Compared

Product Power source Max torque Weight Speed control
CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Impact Wrench (CMCF940M1) 20V battery, 4Ah included 700 ft-lbs tightening, 1000 ft-lbs breakaway Not listed 3 speeds plus variable trigger
CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrench (CMEF901) Corded, 7.5 amp 450 ft-lbs 8.7 pounds Variable speed trigger
CRAFTSMAN Impact Socket Set (CMMT15887) Not applicable (accessory) Not applicable Not listed Not applicable
CRAFTSMAN 1/2-in 750 ft-lbs Air Impact Wrench Compressed air, 5 SCFM at 90 PSI 750 ft-lbs 4.3 pounds 4 forward, 1 reverse setting

Some terms explained simply. “1/2-inch drive” is the size of the square post (called the anvil) that the socket slides onto; it is the standard size for car and truck work. “Torque” is twisting force, measured in foot-pounds (ft-lbs). “Breakaway torque” is the force available to loosen a stuck bolt, which is usually higher than tightening torque. “IPM” (impacts per minute) is how many hammer blows the tool delivers.

CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Impact Wrench for Cordless Convenience


CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Impact Wrench, Cordless, Brushless, High Torque, 1/2 Inch, 4Ah Battery and Charger Included (CMCF940M1)

High score Our score: 9.6/10

Craftsman

CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Impact Wrench, Cordless, Brushless, High Torque, 1/2 Inch, 4Ah Battery and Charger Included (CMCF940M1)

9.6/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Impact Wrench

Best for: DIY mechanics wanting cordless freedom

Pros

  • 700 ft-lbs tightening torque
  • 1000 ft-lbs breakaway torque
  • 4Ah battery and charger included
  • 3 speeds plus LED light

Cons

  • Battery needs recharging on long jobs
  • Weight not listed

The CRAFTSMAN V20 RP Impact Wrench (CMCF940M1) is the cordless option, running on CRAFTSMAN’s V20 20-volt battery system. It comes with a 4Ah battery and a charger, so it is ready to use out of the box, which makes the craftsman v20 impact wrench cmcf940m1 a practical gift for someone who does not own other V20 tools yet.

The listing states up to 700 ft-lbs of tightening torque and up to 1000 ft-lbs of breakaway torque, driven by a brushless motor (a motor design that the listing says gives better runtime and efficiency). You get a three-speed setting and a variable speed trigger, which let you start gently and avoid over-tightening. It has a hog ring anvil, meaning a spring ring holds the socket on so you can pull it off and swap sizes quickly, a glass-filled nylon housing for durability in a garage, and an LED light for dark wheel wells. It is 12.2 inches long; the listing does not specify weight.

This is the one we would suggest for most home mechanics: it goes anywhere, from the driveway to a roadside tire change, and it has the power for lug nuts. It gives way to the air model only if you already own a strong compressor and want the most torque for the least weight. If you want something smaller for screws and light bolts, see our CRAFTSMAN cordless impact driver guide.

CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrench CMEF901 for Corded Reliability


CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrench, 1/2 inch, 7.5 Amp, Corded (CMEF901)

Craftsman

CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrench, 1/2 inch, 7.5 Amp, Corded (CMEF901)

8.0/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrench

Best for: Garage users near an outlet

Pros

  • 450 ft-lbs max torque
  • No batteries to charge
  • Hog ring anvil for quick socket swaps

Cons

  • Heavy at 8.7 pounds
  • Lowest torque of the three wrenches

The CRAFTSMAN Impact Wrench (CMEF901) plugs into a wall outlet and runs on a 7.5-amp motor. With no battery to charge, it is ready whenever you are, as long as you are within reach of a cord.

The listing gives up to 450 ft-lbs of torque, 2,700 IPM and up to 2,200 RPM, with a variable speed trigger for control. Like the cordless model, it has a hog ring anvil for easy socket changes. It is 13 inches long and weighs 8.7 pounds, with a metal body in painted and polished red.

The craftsman corded impact wrench cmef901 suits someone who works in one garage bay and wants simple, dependable power without batteries. At 8.7 pounds and 450 ft-lbs, it is heavier and less powerful on paper than the cordless and air models, so choose one of those if you need to break loose rusted or high-torque bolts.

CRAFTSMAN Impact Socket Set for Safe High-Torque Use


CRAFTSMAN Impact Socket Set, Metric, 1/2-Inch Drive, Deep Impact Sockets, 12-Piece (CMMT15887)

Craftsman

CRAFTSMAN Impact Socket Set, Metric, 1/2-Inch Drive, Deep Impact Sockets, 12-Piece (CMMT15887)

8.4/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

CRAFTSMAN Impact Socket

Best for: Anyone buying a first impact wrench

Pros

  • 12 metric deep impact sockets
  • Black oxide corrosion finish
  • Large size markings
  • Full lifetime warranty

Cons

  • Metric only, no SAE sizes
  • Needs a separate impact wrench

The CRAFTSMAN Impact Socket Set (CMMT15887) is a 12-piece metric deep impact socket set with a 1/2-inch drive, and it is the accessory that makes any of these wrenches useful. Impact sockets are made to handle the repeated hammering of an impact wrench; regular chrome sockets are not designed for that and can crack. That is why a craftsman impact socket set belongs in the same shopping cart as the wrench.

The set includes deep sockets in 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 22, 24 and 27 mm. They have a 6-point design that grips the flat sides of a bolt head to help prevent rounding, a black oxide finish for corrosion resistance, and large size markings. The listing says they meet or exceed ASME specifications and come with a full lifetime warranty. One specification line lists the drive system as “Torx,” which contradicts the 6-point description; the sockets are described as 6-point everywhere else.

This set suits anyone buying their first impact wrench, especially for modern cars that mostly use metric fasteners. It does not include SAE (inch) sizes, so older American vehicles may need additional sockets.

CRAFTSMAN 1/2-in 750 ft-lbs Air Impact Wrench for Compressor Owners

The CRAFTSMAN 1/2-in 750 ft-lbs Air Impact Wrench runs on compressed air from an air compressor. It offers the highest torque in this group, up to 750 ft-lbs, with a free speed of 7,000 RPM, and it is the lightest wrench here at 4.3 pounds thanks to its composite body.

A large adjustment dial gives 4 forward power settings and 1 reverse, easy to turn even with gloves on, and a push-button forward/reverse switch works with one hand. It uses 5 SCFM (standard cubic feet per minute, a measure of air volume) at 90 PSI and has a standard 1/4-inch NPT air inlet; the quick connect plug is not included. It is 12.36 inches long.

The craftsman air impact wrench 1/2 is the right choice only if you have, or plan to buy, a compressor that can keep up with 5 SCFM at 90 PSI. Small pancake compressors may struggle. Our CRAFTSMAN air compressor comparison explains which sizes suit air tools like this one. Without a compressor, the cordless V20 is simpler.

How to Choose the Right CRAFTSMAN 1/2-Inch Impact Wrench

  • Power source: Cordless goes anywhere and comes with a battery and charger. Corded never needs charging but ties you to an outlet. Air gives the most torque and least weight but needs a compressor.
  • Torque needs: For lug nuts and typical car work, the cordless (700 ft-lbs) or air (750 ft-lbs) models have ample power. The corded model’s 450 ft-lbs suits lighter jobs.
  • Weight: The air wrench is 4.3 pounds, the corded is 8.7 pounds, and the cordless weight is not listed.
  • Control: The cordless model has 3 speeds and the air model has 4 forward settings, both helpful to avoid overtightening.
  • Sockets: Always use impact-rated sockets like the 12-piece set above.

Shopping for a gift on a budget? Our roundup of CRAFTSMAN tools on clearance is a good place to spot deals on sockets and accessories.

FAQ

Which CRAFTSMAN 1/2-inch impact wrench is best for beginners?

The V20 cordless (CMCF940M1) is the easiest start: it includes a 4Ah battery and charger, has 3 speed settings, and works anywhere without cords or hoses.

Can I use regular sockets on an impact wrench?

It is not recommended. Impact sockets like the CRAFTSMAN CMMT15887 set are built to handle the hammering force. Standard chrome sockets can crack under impact.

Will the CRAFTSMAN impact wrench remove lug nuts?

The cordless V20 offers up to 1000 ft-lbs of breakaway torque and the air wrench up to 750 ft-lbs, both well suited to lug nuts. Always tighten lug nuts to your vehicle’s specification with a torque wrench.

What size compressor do I need for the CRAFTSMAN air impact wrench?

The listing says it uses 5 SCFM at 90 PSI, so choose a compressor rated to deliver at least that.

Does the CRAFTSMAN corded impact wrench need a special outlet?

The listing states it is a 7.5-amp corded tool but does not specify outlet requirements. A 7.5-amp tool generally runs on a standard household outlet.

Is the CRAFTSMAN socket set metric or SAE?

The CMMT15887 set is metric only, with 12 deep sockets from 12 to 27 mm.

More in Tools & Garden