Getting Started with DEWALT 20V: Which Tools Come First?
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
DEWALT’s 20V MAX line is one of the most popular cordless tool families, and the big idea behind it is simple: one battery fits every tool in the range. Buy a kit that comes with batteries and a charger, and you can add tools later as “tool only” versions, which come without a battery. If you searched for “dewalt 20 v”, you are probably wondering where to start, whether as a first-time homeowner or a gift-giver shopping for someone who loves DIY.
The six products here fill different roles: two drill and impact driver combo kits (a brushed starter and a brushless upgrade), an oscillating multi-tool kit, a sander and an angle grinder sold as bare tools, and a high-capacity battery two-pack made by a third-party company rather than DEWALT.
DEWALT 20V Power Tools Compared
| Product | What it does | Battery and charger | Motor | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DEWALT 20V MAX Drill and Impact Driver Kit (DCK240C2) | Drills holes, drives screws | 2 batteries, charger, bag | Not listed as brushless | 3 year limited |
| DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool (DCS356C1) | Cuts, scrapes, sands in tight spots | 1 battery, charger | Brushless | 3 year limited |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit (DCK277D2) | Drills holes, drives screws | 2 batteries (2.0), charger, bag | Brushless | 3 year limited |
| 8Ah Replacement Battery Compatible for Dewalt 20V (2-pack) | Powers 20V MAX tools | 2 batteries, no charger | Not applicable | 2 years (third party) |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander (DCW210B) | Sands wood smooth | Tool only | Brushless | Not listed |
| DEWALT 20V MAX Angle Grinder (DCG413B) | Cuts and grinds metal | Tool only | Brushless | Not listed |
Two terms appear again and again. A brushless motor has no carbon brushes that wear out, so it typically runs cooler, lasts longer and gets more work from each charge. Amp-hours (Ah) describe battery capacity: a higher number means longer runtime between charges, at the cost of a heavier pack. “MAX” is DEWALT’s way of saying the battery peaks at 20 volts when fresh off the charger.
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver Kit DCK240C2 for First Tool Owners

Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander, Tool Only (DCW210B)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander
Best for: Furniture refinishing and smooth wood projects
Pros
- Brushless motor
- 8,000 to 12,000 OPM dial
- Hook-and-loop 8-hole pad
- Locking dust bag
Cons
- Tool only, no battery
- Shape listed inconsistently

Best for: DIYers wanting a brushless starter kit
Pros
- Brushless drill and impact driver
- Two 2.0 batteries and charger
- Compact 7.6-inch length
- 1500 in-lb torque listed
Cons
- Batteries are compact 2.0 packs
- Speed spec unclear per tool

Best for: Remodelers cutting, scraping and detail sanding
Pros
- Brushless motor, more runtime
- 3-speed selector
- Tool-free Quick-Change blades
- Battery and charger included
Cons
- Battery capacity listed oddly
- Only one battery included

Best for: First-time homeowners building a tool kit
Pros
- Drill plus impact driver
- Two batteries, charger and bag
- Compact and light tools
- LED lights with 20-second delay
Cons
- Brushed motors, not brushless
- Battery capacity not stated
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver kit, model DCK240C2, is the classic starter set. It pairs a DCD771 compact 1/2 inch drill/driver with a 1/4 inch impact driver, plus two batteries, a charger and a storage bag. The drill makes holes and drives screws; the impact driver adds quick hammering bursts to drive long screws and lag bolts that would stall a drill.
Both tools are compact: the impact driver is 5.55 inches long and 2.8 pounds, and the drill is 7.5 inches and 3.6 pounds. The drill has a 1/2 inch single sleeve ratcheting chuck, the impact driver takes 1 inch bit tips in its 1/4 inch hex chuck with one-handed loading, and both have LED work lights that stay on 20 seconds after you let go of the trigger. The listing does not specify battery capacity or call the motors brushless, and it carries a 3 year limited warranty.
This kit suits anyone hanging shelves, assembling furniture or doing basic repairs. If you want brushless motors, step up to the DCK277D2 below.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit for Remodeling and Detail Work
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool, model DCS356C1, is a multi-tool whose blade vibrates side to side very fast, up to 20,000 oscillations per minute (OPM). That lets it cut door trim, drywall and flooring in place, scrape old caulk and sand corners. The description names drywall work, detail sanding, laminate floor cutting and floor sanding as common uses.
A brushless motor gives up to 57 percent more runtime than brushed, according to DEWALT. It has a 3-speed selector, a Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger, a Quick-Change system for swapping blades without wrenches, a universal adaptor for most oscillating accessory brands, and an LED. The kit includes blades, one battery and a charger, weighs 3 pounds and has a 3 year limited warranty. The spec sheet lists the battery capacity as “40 amp hours”, which is clearly an error, so the true capacity is not specified.
Pick this second, after a drill kit, if you are renovating a room. It is the most versatile cutting tool for beginners.
DEWALT 20V MAX Brushless Drill and Impact Driver Kit DCK277D2 for Long-Term DIY
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver kit, model DCK277D2, is the brushless version of the starter combo. It includes a DCD777 1/2 inch drill/driver and a DCF787 1/4 inch impact driver, two compact 2.0 batteries, a charger and a contractor bag.
The listing names a compact 7.6-inch front-to-back length, an ergonomic grip, an LED with a 20-second delay, a variable speed trigger and a quick-release hex chuck. The spec sheet lists 1500 in-lb torque and 2800 rpm without saying which tool each figure refers to. The warranty description lists a 3 year limited warranty, a 1 year free service contract and a 90 day money back guarantee.
Choose this over the DCK240C2 if you expect to use your tools often, since brushless motors tend to last longer. It is a strong gift for someone moving into their first house. Later additions like a 20V leaf blower run on the same batteries.
8Ah Replacement Battery Compatible for Dewalt 20V for Longer Runtime
The 8Ah Replacement Compatible for Dewalt 20V Max battery two-pack is important to understand honestly: it is not a DEWALT product. It is made by a third-party company, VelgoNyx, and is designed to fit DEWALT 20V MAX tools. The listing says it fits tools that use battery interfaces such as DCB200, DCB201, DCB203, DCB204, DCB205, DCB208 and DCB2010, and works with compatible chargers.
Each pack is rated 8Ah (8000mAh), much larger than the 2.0 packs in the DCK277D2 kit. The listing mentions Grade A lithium cells, a chip with 9 protections (over-charge, over-discharge, short circuit and more), FCC, CE and RoHS certifications, a flame-retardant shell and a 2-year warranty from the seller. The spec sheet oddly says “2 AAA batteries required”, which is an error. No charger is included.
Consider this only if you already own a DEWALT charger and want extra runtime. A third-party battery is covered by its maker, not by DEWALT’s warranty.
DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander DCW210B for Smooth Finishes
The DEWALT 20V MAX Orbital Sander, model DCW210B, is a tool-only sander. The description calls it a 5 inch random orbital sander, which spins and wobbles the pad at the same time to avoid swirl marks, although the spec sheet lists the shape as rectangular. It has a brushless motor and a variable-speed dial from 8,000 to 12,000 OPM.
Features include a low-profile height for control, a replaceable 8-hole hook-and-loop pad so paper sticks on like Velcro, a dust-sealed switch, a rubber overmold grip, and a one-handed locking dust bag. The dust port fits DWV010 or DWV012 dust collectors, sold separately. It weighs 2.5 pounds. Battery and charger are sold separately. Our DEWALT 20V sander guide compares more sanding options.
Great for refinishing furniture, prepping walls and woodworking, once you own a battery from a kit.
DEWALT 20V MAX Angle Grinder Tool DCG413B for Metal Work
The DEWALT 20V MAX* Angle Grinder Tool, model DCG413B, is a 4 1/2 inch brushless grinder sold as a bare tool. An angle grinder spins a cutting or grinding disc to cut bolts, remove rust and smooth welds. Because that disc can grab, safety features matter, and this model lists several.
The brake stops the wheel in 2 seconds or less on average. The Kickback Brake senses a pinch or stall, stops the wheel and shuts the tool off. E-Switch Protection means that after a sudden shutdown you must switch it off and on again before it restarts, and a two-stage trigger needs two actions to start. The spec sheet lists 20 watts and 16 ounces, which seem unlikely for a grinder of 12.2 inches, so treat those as unreliable.
Buy this if you work on metal, bikes or cars. It is not a first purchase for most homeowners.
How to Choose the Right DEWALT 20V Tool First
Start with a kit that includes batteries. The two drill kits come with batteries and a charger, which power every other tool here. The DCK240C2 is the basic option, the DCK277D2 the brushless one.
Add tools by the project. Renovating a room points to the oscillating tool. Refinishing furniture points to the sander. Metal work points to the grinder. For outdoor work, a 20V chainsaw uses the same batteries.
Think about runtime. Compact 2.0 packs are light. Larger packs, like the third-party 8Ah two-pack, run longer but are heavier and not DEWALT-made.
Check tool-only listings. The sander and grinder come without a battery or charger. Make sure the recipient already owns one.
FAQ
Do all DEWALT 20V MAX batteries fit all 20V MAX tools?
That is the main idea of the platform. The tools here all run on 20V MAX batteries.
What is the difference between the DCK240C2 and DCK277D2?
The DCK277D2 lists brushless motors and 2.0 compact batteries. The DCK240C2 does not describe its motors as brushless or name its battery capacity.
Is the 8Ah battery made by DEWALT?
No. It is a third-party battery designed to be compatible with DEWALT 20V MAX tools and carries its own 2-year warranty.
Which DEWALT 20V tool should I buy first?
A drill and impact driver kit, because it covers most household jobs and includes the batteries and charger.
What does tool only mean?
The tool comes without a battery or charger. You need a 20V MAX battery from another kit.


