DEWALT 60V Stud and Joist Drill: Do You Need That Much Power?
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
DEWALT is one of the go-to names for framing and rough-in work, and its stud and joist drills are built for one tough job: boring large holes through wooden studs, joists and plates so electricians can pull wire and plumbers can run pipe. A stud and joist drill is a right angle drill, which means the chuck sits at 90 degrees to the motor. That short head slips between framing members spaced a few inches apart, where a normal drill would never fit.
The six models here differ mostly in power source: one 60V MAX cordless beast, four 20V MAX XR compact drills with either a 1/2 in. chuck or a 7/16 in. hex quick change chuck, and one 11 amp corded drill for people who work near an outlet.
DEWALT Stud and Joist Drills Compared
| Model | Power | Chuck | Top speed | In the box |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DCD470B | 60V MAX cordless | 20 mm listed | 1320 rpm | Tool only |
| DCD446B | 20V MAX XR cordless | 1/2 in. | Not listed | Tool only |
| DCD447B | 20V MAX XR cordless | 7/16 in. quick change | Not listed | Tool only |
| DCD447WW1 | 20V MAX XR cordless | 7/16 in. | Not listed | Battery and charger |
| DCD443B | 20V MAX XR cordless | 7/16 in. hex quick change | 2000 rpm | Tool only |
| DWD450 | 11 amp corded | 1/2 in. | 1300 rpm | Not listed |
DEWALT 60V MAX* Right Angle Drill for the Heaviest Boring

Dewalt
DEWALT 60V MAX* Right Angle Drill, Stud/Joist, Tool Only (DCD470B)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
DEWALT 60V MAX* Right Angle Drill
Best for: Pros boring the biggest holes cordless
Pros
- 60V MAX brushless motor
- Two speed ranges up to 1320 rpm
- E-Clutch anti-rotation system
- Magnesium gear case
Cons
- Tool only, battery sold separately
- Listing specs are inconsistent
The DEWALT 60V MAX* Right Angle Drill is the DCD470B, and DEWALT’s own description calls it the brand’s most powerful battery drill. It runs on a 60V MAX brushless motor. “Brushless” means the motor uses electronics instead of small carbon brushes, which usually brings more runtime and less wear. DEWALT sums it up as the power of a cord with cordless freedom.
It has two variable speed ranges, 0-400 rpm and 0-1320 rpm. Low speed gives more twisting force for big self-feed bits and hole saws; high speed suits smaller auger bits. You can shift between the two without feathering the trigger. Safety comes from an integral clutch plus the E-Clutch anti-rotation system, which senses when the drill starts spinning around in your hands (for example when a bit catches a nail) and shuts it down, with a red LED to show it engaged. A magnesium gear case keeps weight down, and it is Tool Connect Tag ready for tracking in the DEWALT app. The listing is messy in places: the specifications mention 120 volts, an “impact driver” drill type, an 8Ah battery and a 20 mm chuck, and the description calls it “in-line” while the title says right angle. It is sold tool only, so the battery is not included. If you searched for a FlexVolt right angle drill, note that this listing uses only the 60V MAX name.
This is for tradespeople who bore large holes all day and already own 60V batteries, or who want the most cordless power DEWALT offers here. For occasional DIY work, a 20V model below is lighter on your wallet and wrist. DEWALT fans building a 60V kit may also like our dewalt 60v saw guide.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless (DCD446B) with a 1/2 in. Chuck
Best for: Compact drilling with POWER DETECT
Pros
- POWER DETECT boosts output with XR packs
- 7/16 in. hex quick change
- Up to 2000 rpm listed
Cons
- Tool only
- Some listed specs look doubtful

Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 7/16 Inch Cordless Stud & Joist Drill Kit with Battery and Charger (DCD447WW1)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 7 16
Best for: First-timers needing battery and charger
Pros
- Battery and charger included
- 290 Nm listed torque
- 4 in. hole saw capacity
Cons
- Chuck type described two ways
- Included battery size not listed

Best for: 20V users wanting a 1/2 in. chuck
Pros
- 1/2 in. chuck
- Up to 1,845 max watts out
- 4 in. hole saw capacity
- Anti-rotation system
Cons
- Tool only
- Speed not listed
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless DCD446B is a compact 20V stud and joist drill with a 1/2 in. chuck, the traditional round chuck that grips round and hex shanks alike. The listing claims up to 1,845 max watts out when paired with the DCB2108 battery, which DEWALT says gives up to 79% more max watts out than a DCB205 battery.
Capacity is listed as up to a 4 in. hole with a hole saw and a 2-9/16 in. hole with a self-feed bit. DEWALT also claims up to 267 holes per charge in 1.5 in. thick Douglas fir using a 7/8 in. by 18 in. auger bit and the DCB2108 battery. It has the anti-rotation system with red LED and is Tool Connect chip ready (chip sold separately). The listing does not specify speed or torque, and it is tool only.
It suits 20V owners who want a cordless drill that accepts a wide range of bits. If you prefer quick bit swaps, look at the 7/16 in. hex models next.
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Brushless Cordless (DCD447B) with Quick Change Chuck

Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Brushless Cordless 7/16 in. Quick Change Compact Stud & Joist Drill (Tool Only) (DCD447B)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Brushless Cordless
Best for: Fast bit swaps with hex bits
Pros
- 7/16 in. quick change chuck
- Up to 1,845 max watts out
- 267 holes per charge claim
Cons
- Tool only
- Peak figures need DCB2108 battery
The DEWALT 20V MAX* XR Brushless Cordless DCD447B shares most of its listed performance with the DCD446B: up to 1,845 max watts out with the DCB2108 battery, up to 4 in. with a hole saw, 2-9/16 in. with a self-feed bit, the 267-holes-per-charge claim, anti-rotation and Tool Connect readiness.
The difference is the 7/16 in. quick change chuck. This is a hex socket that accepts bits with a 7/16 in. hex shank: you push the bit in and it locks, so there is no chuck key or twisting. Electricians who swap between auger bits and hole saws often prefer this. The trade-off is that bits need that specific hex shank. It is tool only.
Pick this if you already have 20V batteries and want the fastest bit changes. If you need a battery and charger in the box, the DCD447WW1 kit is the same family.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR 7 16 Kit for Buyers Starting from Scratch
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR 7 16 DCD447WW1 is the kit version, sold with a battery and charger. That makes it the easiest gift or first purchase, because it works out of the box. The listing does not specify which battery size is included, and remember the 1,845 max watts figure is quoted with the DCB2108 battery, which is sold separately.
The specifications list 290 Nm maximum torque, a 0.44 in. (7/16 in.) chuck, 4 in. wood drilling capacity and the anti-rotation system. The title says quick change is implied by its family, but the description calls it a “keyed chuck,” so confirm the chuck style if it matters to your bits. It is Tool Connect chip ready and shares the 2-9/16 in. self-feed capacity.
This fits a new electrician or plumber, or a DIYer with no DEWALT batteries yet. If you already own packs, the tool-only DCD447B avoids buying a battery you do not need.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless (DCD443B) with POWER DETECT
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless DCD443B is a compact quick change model with POWER DETECT, a feature that raises the tool’s output when it senses a high-capacity XR battery. DEWALT says it is up to 50% more powerful with a DCB208 pack.
It has a 7/16 in. hex quick change chuck, the E-Clutch System for bind-up situations, two speeds, and capacity up to 4 in. with a hole saw and 2-9/16 in. with a self-feed bit. The specifications list 2000 rpm, 300 watts and a 4 in. metal drilling capacity; the metal figure looks like a listing error, since stud and joist drills are made for wood. Tool Connect chip readiness is included, and the drill is sold bare.
It suits users who own DCB208-style packs and want compact size with a bump in power. If you want the higher max watts figures quoted for the newer DCD446 and DCD447 family, those are listed with the DCB2108 battery instead. More options in this family are in our dewalt drill xr max roundup.
DEWALT DWD450 VSR Stud and Joist for Corded Reliability
Best for: Shops with outlets nearby
Pros
- 11 amp corded motor
- No batteries to charge
- Mechanical clutch in low gear
- Adjustable front and side handles
Cons
- Needs a cord
- No anti-rotation electronics listed
The DEWALT DWD450 VSR Stud and Joist drill plugs into the wall. VSR stands for variable speed reversible: the speed rises as you squeeze the trigger, and it can run backward to back a bit out of a stuck hole. It uses an 11 amp DEWALT-built motor and a 1/2-inch chuck.
Two speed ranges are listed, 0-330 and 0-1300 rpm. A mechanical clutch in low gear helps prevent bit lock-up and extends gear life. It has a metal gear housing, 100% ball bearing construction, an adjustable front handle and a 2-position side handle for leverage. The specifications list 50 in-lb of torque, which seems low for this kind of tool, so treat that number with caution.
This is for a shop, a remodel with power on site, or anyone who does not want to manage batteries. It lacks the electronic anti-rotation systems of the cordless models, so the side handle and a firm stance matter.
How to Choose the Right DEWALT Stud and Joist Drill
Decide between 60V, 20V and corded. The 60V DCD470B is the power pick for large bits all day. The 20V XR models are lighter and share batteries with many DEWALT tools, which is handy if you already own them; see our guide to dewalt tools on sale and clearance 20 volt for building out a kit. The corded DWD450 never runs out of charge.
Pick a chuck style. A 1/2 in. chuck (DCD446B, DWD450) grips almost any bit. A 7/16 in. hex quick change chuck (DCD447B, DCD447WW1, DCD443B) swaps bits in seconds but needs hex-shank bits.
Check what is in the box. Only the DCD447WW1 lists a battery and charger. The others are tool only, and the corded model needs just an outlet.
Look for safety features. Right angle drills can twist hard when a bit catches. The cordless models list anti-rotation or E-Clutch shutdown; the corded model relies on a mechanical clutch and handles.
FAQ
Is the 60V DEWALT stud and joist drill worth it over 20V
For large self-feed bits and long days of boring, the 60V DCD470B offers the most power in this lineup. For wiring runs and occasional plumbing holes, the 20V XR models handle up to 4 in. hole saws according to their listings.
What is a right angle drill used for in plumbing and electrical
It drills holes through studs and joists in tight spaces so pipe and cable can pass through framing. The head sits at 90 degrees so it fits between framing members.
Which DEWALT stud and joist drill should a beginner buy
The DCD447WW1 kit, because it includes a battery and charger. If a battery is already on hand, a tool-only 20V model works.
Do the cordless models include batteries
Only the DCD447WW1 lists a battery and charger. The DCD470B, DCD446B, DCD447B and DCD443B are tool only.
What does anti-rotation or E-Clutch do
It senses when the drill body starts to spin because the bit has bound up, then shuts the motor off and lights a red LED.
Once framing holes are bored and conduit is set, properly routing high-amperage lines to a utility enclosure requires careful planning; consulting a Power Rack Guide ensures adequate clearance and thermal management across the entire installation. Matching tool capacity to your specific job demands ultimately prevents motor strain and keeps heavy rough-in projects running smoothly.


