Skip to content
BuyShelf.net One clear way in to every guide

Tools & Garden

RYOBI ONE+ Drill Kits With Batteries: Which One to Start With

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

RYOBI is best known for its ONE+ system, a family of 18V cordless tools that all share the same battery. That single idea is what makes the brand so popular with first-time homeowners and with people shopping for a gift: buy one drill kit with a battery and charger, and that same battery can later run a saw, a light or a leaf blower from the same system. You only pay for the battery once, and every new tool can be bought as a “bare tool” without its own pack.

The six kits below cover the three ways to start: a drill with its battery and charger (the brushless HP compact model, the 3/8 in. drill driver kit and the 1/2 in. drill/driver), battery-and-charger starter kits with no tool at all (a single 2.0 Ah pack or a 4 Ah plus 2 Ah pair), and a two-tool combo that adds a circular saw to the drill.

RYOBI Drill and Battery Kits Compared

Model What is in the box Battery size Max torque Chuck size
RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless Drill/driver, battery, charger, bag 1.5 Ah (one) 400 in-lb (description says 380) 1/2 in.
ONE+ 18V Drill Driver Kit Drill driver, battery, charger, 20-piece bit kit, holster Not listed Not listed 3/8 in.
Ryobi One+ 18v Lithium Ion 2.0ah Battery and charger only 2.0 Ah (one) Not applicable Not applicable
RYOBI ONE+ 18V Lithium-Ion Starter High Performance Kit Two batteries and charger 4 Ah and 2 Ah Not applicable Not applicable
ONE+ 18V Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit Drill/driver, battery, charger 1.5 Ah (one) 515 in-lb 1/2 in.
RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 2-Tool Combo Drill/driver, circular saw, two batteries, charger, bag 1.5 Ah (two) 515 in-lb 1/2 in.

RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless for Tight Spaces


RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver Kit With Battery & Charger

Ryobi

RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2" Drill/Driver Kit With Battery & Charger

8.8/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless

Best for: Tight spaces and overhead drilling

Pros

  • Brushless motor
  • Compact 6.4 in. body
  • 24-position clutch
  • 1/2 in. ratcheting chuck

Cons

  • Small 1.5 Ah battery
  • Torque figure differs in listing

The RYOBI 18V ONE+ HP Compact Brushless 1/2 in. drill/driver kit comes with one 1.5 Ah lithium-ion battery, a charger and a bag. “HP” is RYOBI’s label for its higher-performance line, and “brushless” describes the motor: instead of small carbon brushes rubbing inside the motor, electronics control it, which the listing says gives longer runtime, longer motor life and more power. At 6.4 in. long, RYOBI describes it as 30% more compact and 20% lighter than the brushed model, which helps when you are working inside a cabinet or holding the drill above your head.

The listing names a 2-speed motor (0-450 and 0-1,700 RPM), a 24-position clutch, an on-board LED worklight and a single sleeve ratcheting chuck, which means you tighten the bit with one hand. One thing to know: the feature list says up to 400 in-lbs of torque, while the description says 380 in-lbs, and one specification line lists a rotational speed figure that does not match the RPM numbers. Treat it as a drill in the high-300s to 400 in-lb range. Torque is simply the twisting force; more of it helps drive long screws and bore large holes.

This kit suits someone who wants a light, modern drill that is easy to handle, and who does not mind a small battery. If you want more runtime from day one, pair it with one of the battery kits below; if you want a second tool in the box, the 2-Tool Combo is the better start. Readers who want to go deeper on this motor style can read our guide to the RYOBI brushless drill driver.

ONE+ 18V Drill Driver Kit for Beginners Who Want Bits Included


Ryobi ONE+ 18V Drill/Driver Kit with Battery, Charger. Bits, & Holster

Ryobi

Ryobi ONE+ 18V Drill/Driver Kit with Battery, Charger. Bits, & Holster

8.8/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

ONE+ 18V Drill Driver Kit

Best for: Beginners wanting bits included

Pros

  • 20-piece drill and drive kit
  • Holster included
  • Battery and charger bundled

Cons

  • Smaller 3/8 in. chuck
  • Listing details contradict each other

The ONE+ 18V Drill Driver Kit is a bundle: according to its feature list it contains an 18V cordless 3/8 in. drill driver, one 18V battery, a charger, a 20-piece drill and drive bit kit and a holster. The holster comes from a third-party bundler rather than RYOBI itself, so think of it as an extra rather than part of the ONE+ system. The listing does not specify the battery’s amp-hour size or the drill’s torque.

Be aware that the listing contradicts itself in a few places. The bundle list names one drill driver, but the description calls it a “drill and impact driver combo kit,” and one specification line says “Bare-Tool,” which normally means no battery. Read the bundle contents carefully on the product page before buying. The 3/8 in. chuck also means the largest bit shank it can hold is smaller than the 1/2 in. chucks on the other drills here; for furniture assembly, hanging shelves and small repairs, that is usually enough.

This is the kit for a true beginner or a gift for someone who owns no bits at all, since the 20-piece set means they can start right away. If the person you are buying for also wants an impact driver for long screws, see our RYOBI drill and impact driver set guide instead.

Ryobi One+ 18v Lithium Ion 2.0ah for Adding a Spare Battery


RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 2-Tool Combo Kit with Drill/Driver, Circular Saw, (2) 1.5 Ah Batteries, and Charger

High score Our score: 9.2/10

Ryobi

RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 2-Tool Combo Kit with Drill/Driver, Circular Saw, (2) 1.5 Ah Batteries, and Charger

9.2/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 2-Tool Combo

Best for: New homeowners starting a toolbox

Pros

  • Drill plus circular saw
  • Two 1.5 Ah batteries
  • 515 in-lb torque
  • Bag included

Cons

  • Heaviest kit here
  • Small-capacity batteries
Ryobi One+ 18v Lithium Ion 2.0ah
Ryobi One+ 18v Lithium Ion 2.0ah

Best for: Owners adding a spare battery

Pros

  • 0 Ah battery
  • Charges in under an hour
  • LED fuel gauge

Cons

  • No tool included
  • Single battery only

The Ryobi One+ 18v Lithium Ion 2.0ah kit (part number PSK005) is a battery and charger only, with no tool. It is the classic RYOBI ONE+ starter kit: the listing says the battery works with the tools in the 18V ONE+ system and gives up to 1.5 times more runtime than RYOBI’s 1.5 Ah standard battery. Amp-hours (Ah) describe how much energy a battery stores, so a 2.0 Ah pack runs longer than a 1.5 Ah pack in the same tool.

The listing mentions charging from empty to full in under an hour, a built-in LED fuel gauge so you can see the charge level, impact-resistant construction and performance in extreme temperatures. The whole kit weighs 1.9 pounds according to the specifications.

This kit suits two readers: someone who already owns a ONE+ bare tool and needs power for it, and someone who bought one of the drill kits here and wants a second battery so one can charge while the other works. It gives way to the High Performance Starter Kit if you want more capacity in one purchase.

RYOBI ONE+ 18V Lithium-Ion Starter High Performance Kit for Growing Collections

The RYOBI ONEAND 18V Lithium-ION Starter High Performance Kit (the listing writes “ONEAND,” which is a garbled version of ONE+) includes a PBP004 18V 4Ah High Performance battery, a PBP003 18V 2Ah High Performance battery, a PCG002 charger and the operator’s manuals. There is no tool in the box.

The description names IntelliCell Electronics, which RYOBI calls a smarter power and runtime management system, the COOL-CORE heat management system that keeps the pack running cooler, and an anti-vibration pack design for protection against impacts. The listing specifies UL and FCC certification and a kit weight of 2.3 pounds. It does not list charging time.

This is the pick for someone who already has, or plans to buy, several ONE+ tools and wants plenty of runtime. The 4 Ah battery suits hungry tools like saws, while the 2 Ah pack keeps a drill light in the hand. For a beginner who owns no tools yet, one of the drill kits is the better first purchase.

ONE+ 18V Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver Kit for a Simple First Drill

The ONEAND 18V Cordless 1 2 in. Drill/Driver Kit (model PCL206K1) is, going by its title, a 1/2 in. drill/driver with one 1.5 Ah battery and a charger. The specifications list 515 in-lb of torque and a maximum speed of 1,750 RPM, which is the highest torque figure among the single-drill kits here.

The rest of this listing is weak. Its feature and description text talks about replacement parts for lawn and landscape professionals, which has nothing to do with a drill, so it tells you nothing useful. The listing does not specify the clutch settings, number of speeds, motor type or whether a bag is included. Check the product page and the model number before buying.

If you simply want a straightforward full-size ONE+ drill with a battery and charger, this is a sensible choice. Shoppers who value a compact, lighter body should look at the brushless HP model, and those who want more than one tool should look at the 2-Tool Combo, which lists the same 515 in-lb torque figure.

RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 2-Tool Combo for Starting a Real Toolbox

The RYOBI ONE+ 18V Cordless 2-Tool Combo Kit (model PCL1201K2) includes a 1/2 in. drill/driver, a 5-1/2 in. circular saw, two 1.5 Ah lithium-ion batteries, an 18V charger and a bag. The description says the drill provides up to 515 in-lbs of torque with a 1/2 in. ratcheting metal chuck, and the saw can cut through 2-by lumber with over 215 cuts per charge.

A circular saw is the round-bladed saw used to cut boards to length, so this kit covers the two jobs most new homeowners face first: making holes and cutting wood. The batteries have an integrated fuel gauge, and having two of them means one can charge while you work. The listing gives a weight of 4.54 kg for the set, which makes it the heaviest box here.

This is the best-rounded RYOBI ONE+ starter kit in the list for someone setting up a first workshop or for a housewarming gift. The trade-off is small batteries; if you expect long sessions of cutting, adding the High Performance battery kit later is an easy upgrade.

How to Choose the Right RYOBI Drill and Battery Kit

Start with what the person already owns. If they have no RYOBI tools, pick a kit that includes a drill, battery and charger: the HP Compact Brushless, the Drill Driver Kit, the 1/2 in. Drill/Driver or the 2-Tool Combo. If they already own ONE+ tools, a battery kit such as the 2.0 Ah starter or the 4 Ah plus 2 Ah High Performance kit is the more useful gift.

Next, look at battery size. Every drill kit here ships with a 1.5 Ah battery or, in one case, an unspecified one. That is fine for small household jobs, but a larger pack runs longer. Because all ONE+ batteries fit all ONE+ tools, you can always add capacity later.

Then consider the chuck and torque. A 1/2 in. chuck, found on the HP Compact, the 1/2 in. Drill/Driver and the combo drill, accepts larger bits than the 3/8 in. chuck on the Drill Driver Kit. The two 515 in-lb drills list the highest torque, while the brushless HP model trades a little torque for a smaller, lighter body.

Finally, think about extras. The Drill Driver Kit adds bits and a holster, and the 2-Tool Combo adds a circular saw and a second battery. For a new homeowner, extras that remove the need for a second shopping trip are often worth more than a small spec difference.

FAQ

Do RYOBI ONE+ batteries fit all RYOBI 18V tools?

The battery listings here say they are compatible with RYOBI 18V ONE+ system tools. That shared battery is the main reason people choose the brand, so a battery from any of these kits should work with a drill from any other kit on this list.

What does Ah mean on a RYOBI battery?

Ah stands for amp-hours, a measure of how much energy the battery stores. A higher number means longer runtime between charges. The 2.0 Ah starter kit lists up to 1.5 times the runtime of a 1.5 Ah battery.

Is a brushless RYOBI drill worth it for a beginner?

The HP Compact Brushless listing says its brushless motor gives longer runtime, longer motor life and more power, in a body 20% lighter than the brushed model. A beginner does not need brushless, but a lighter drill is easier to control, which many first-time users appreciate.

Which RYOBI kit is the best gift for a new homeowner?

The 2-Tool Combo covers drilling and cutting with two batteries, so it is the most complete first kit here. For someone who mainly assembles furniture and hangs pictures, the Drill Driver Kit with its 20-piece bit set is a simpler gift.

Do the battery kits include a drill?

No. The 2.0 Ah starter kit and the High Performance kit include only batteries and a charger. They are meant for people who already own, or plan to buy, a ONE+ tool.

Why do some listings say ONEAND instead of ONE+?

That is a formatting error in the listing titles, where the plus sign was turned into the word “and.” The products are part of the RYOBI 18V ONE+ system, as their descriptions and part numbers show.

More in Tools & Garden