Skip to content
BuyShelf.net One clear way in to every guide

Tools & Garden

Craftsman Pole Saws: Cordless V20, Brushless or Corded?

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

Craftsman is a long-running American tool brand, and in the yard it is known for its V20 cordless system, where one family of 20-volt batteries powers drills, trimmers, blowers and saws. Its pole saws follow the same idea: a small chainsaw on the end of a long pole, so you can cut branches that are too high to reach from the ground without climbing a ladder. For a first-time homeowner, that is often the safest way to clear limbs hanging over a roof, driveway or fence.

The three Craftsman pole saws here split neatly: the V20 CMCCSP20B is a cordless saw with up to 14 feet of reach, the brushless CMCPS630B is a cordless saw with a folding 10-foot pole and a more efficient motor, and the corded CMECSP610 is a 2-in-1 tool that works as both a handheld chainsaw and a pole saw with up to 15 feet of reach.

Craftsman Pole Saws Compared


CRAFTSMAN Pole Saw, Pole Saws for Tree Trimming, Cordless V20 Tool-Only Tree Trimmer, Up to 14 Ft Extended Reach (CMCCSP20B)

High score Our score: 9.8/10

Craftsman

CRAFTSMAN Pole Saw, Pole Saws for Tree Trimming, Cordless V20 Tool-Only Tree Trimmer, Up to 14 Ft Extended Reach (CMCCSP20B)

9.8/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

CRAFTSMAN Pole Saw

Best for: V20 owners trimming overhead branches

Pros

  • Up to 14 ft reach
  • Angled head for precise cuts
  • Soft-grip extension pole
  • VERSATRACK hook

Cons

  • Battery and charger sold separately
  • Bar length not listed
Model Power Max reach Bar and cut size Listed weight
CRAFTSMAN Pole Saw (CMCCSP20B) V20 battery, tool only Up to 14 ft with extension pole Not listed 10 pounds
CRAFTSMAN Brushless Rp Pole Saw B (CMCPS630B) V20 battery, brushless, tool only 10 ft pole, folds 8 in bar, cuts up to 6 in 10.6 pounds
CRAFTSMAN Pole Chainsaw 2 in 1 (CMECSP610) Corded, 8 amp Up to 15 ft with extension pole 10 in (from description) Not listed

A quick note on terms before the details. “Tool only” means the battery and charger are not in the box. “Reach” is how high you can cut while standing on the ground, which includes your own height and arm length, not just the pole. “Brushless” describes a motor design without small carbon brushes inside; brushless motors are generally more efficient and run cooler, which is why they often get more work out of each battery charge.

CRAFTSMAN Pole Saw CMCCSP20B for V20 Battery Owners

The CRAFTSMAN Pole Saw CMCCSP20B is the standard V20 cordless pole chainsaw. It is sold as a tool only, so the box contains the pole chainsaw, one extension pole and a wrench, while the V20 battery and charger are sold separately. That makes it an easy gift for someone who already owns a Craftsman V20 drill or trimmer, because their batteries will fit.

The listing gives up to 14 feet of reach with the extension pole, and up to 325 cuts per charge. That cut figure carries a footnote in the listing whose conditions are not shown, so we cannot say what size branch or battery it assumes. The head and blade are angled for more precise cuts, which helps when you are looking up at a branch and trying to line up the chain. The extension pole has a soft grip, and an integrated hook lets you hang the saw on Craftsman’s VERSATRACK wall system (sold separately). The listed weight is 10 pounds and the blade material is high speed steel.

The listing does not specify the bar length or the maximum branch thickness, so if you are facing thick limbs, the brushless model’s clearly stated 6-inch cut capacity is easier to plan around. This model suits V20 owners who want extra reach for routine trimming of small and medium branches.

CRAFTSMAN Brushless Rp Pole Saw B CMCPS630B for Compact Storage


CRAFTSMAN Brushless Rp Pole Saw B (CMCPS630B)

Craftsman

CRAFTSMAN Brushless Rp Pole Saw B (CMCPS630B)

8.2/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

CRAFTSMAN Brushless Rp Pole Saw B

Best for: Easy storage and thicker limbs

Pros

  • Brushless motor
  • Folding 10 ft pole
  • 8 in bar, 6 in cuts
  • Bucking spike and branch hook

Cons

  • Shortest reach of the three
  • Battery and charger sold separately

The CRAFTSMAN Brushless Rp Pole Saw B (CMCPS630B) is the newer V20 option with a high-efficiency brushless motor. It is also tool only, and the box includes the pole saw, a bar sheath (a cover that protects the chain in storage) and a wrench.

Its standout feature is the folding 10-foot pole. Instead of separate pieces, the pole folds for transport and storage, and the VERSATRACK hook is built into it. The listing names an 8-inch low-kickback bar and chain that can cut branches up to 6 inches thick, and says it cuts through a 2×4 of yellow pine in under 4.5 seconds. Kickback is the sudden upward jump a chainsaw can make if the tip of the chain catches, so a low-kickback bar and chain is a helpful safety feature for beginners. It also has a bucking spike, a small toothed piece that grips the wood while you cut, and a branch hook to pull cut limbs down from where they get stuck.

The listing claims up to 54 cuts per charge. This looks lower than the 325 figure on the CMCCSP20B, but both come with footnotes whose test conditions are not shown, so the two numbers are not a fair side-by-side comparison. The listed weight is 10.6 pounds and the folded size is 38 by 7.95 by 10.2 inches. This model suits homeowners with limited garage space and branches up to about 6 inches, but if you need to reach higher, the CMCCSP20B or the corded model give more listed reach.

CRAFTSMAN Pole Chainsaw 2 in 1 CMECSP610 for Corded Power


CRAFTSMAN Pole Chainsaw 2 in 1 With Extension Pole, 8 AMP, Corded (CMECSP610)

Craftsman

CRAFTSMAN Pole Chainsaw 2 in 1 With Extension Pole, 8 AMP, Corded (CMECSP610)

8.4/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

CRAFTSMAN Pole Chainsaw 2 in 1

Best for: No-battery buyers wanting two tools

Pros

  • Handheld chainsaw and pole saw
  • Up to 15 ft reach
  • Auto-oiling with oil window
  • 3-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Needs an extension cord
  • Power source listed inconsistently

The CRAFTSMAN Pole Chainsaw 2 in 1 (CMECSP610) is the only corded model here, and the only one that doubles as a regular handheld chainsaw. Take off the extension pole and you have a small chainsaw for cutting fallen branches into logs; attach the pole and you can reach up to 15 feet, the most of the three.

It has an 8-amp motor, and the description mentions a 10-inch bar. Auto-oiling means the saw feeds bar oil onto the chain as it runs, and a built-in oil window lets you see when it is running low, with no priming needed. Bolt-lock chain tensioning clamps the bar and chain in place. The box includes the chainsaw, bar cover, extension pole, wrench, bar and chain, and it carries a 3-year limited warranty. One listing detail looks off: the power source field says “dc,” while the title clearly calls it a corded 8-amp saw, so treat it as a plug-in tool.

Because it plugs into the wall, you never wait for a battery to charge, but you will need an outdoor-rated extension cord and must keep it clear of the chain. It suits buyers without Craftsman batteries who want two tools in one, and yards close enough to an outlet. For more cord-powered options, see our guide to the electric pole saw category.

How to Choose the Right Craftsman Pole Saw

Battery or cord. If the person already owns Craftsman V20 batteries, either cordless model is the natural pick, since both are sold without a battery. If they own no batteries, the corded CMECSP610 avoids the extra purchase but ties them to an outlet.

How high the branches are. Compare the listed reach: 10 feet of pole on the brushless model, up to 14 feet on the CMCCSP20B and up to 15 feet on the corded model. Remember that reach figures describe how high you can cut, which depends on the pole and your own height.

How thick the branches are. Only the brushless CMCPS630B lists a cut capacity, up to 6 inches. The corded model’s 10-inch bar suggests room for thicker wood, but the listing does not state a maximum cut.

Storage space. The folding pole on the CMCPS630B is the most compact to store. The other two use a separate extension pole, and all three can hang on a VERSATRACK wall system.

Extra jobs. Only the CMECSP610 converts to a handheld chainsaw, which is handy for cutting branches into smaller pieces once they are on the ground. If you are comparing across brands, our guide to pole saws for tree trimming covers the wider category.

Saw or trimmer. A pole hedge trimmer is a different tool meant for shaping hedges rather than cutting branches, so make sure a saw is what the job needs.

Whichever you choose, wear eye protection, gloves and a hard hat, never stand directly under the branch you are cutting, and keep well away from power lines.

FAQ

Do Craftsman cordless pole saws come with a battery?

No. Both the CMCCSP20B and the CMCPS630B are sold as tool only, and their listings state the V20 battery and charger are sold separately.

Which Craftsman pole saw reaches the highest?

The corded CMECSP610 lists up to 15 feet of reach, the CMCCSP20B lists up to 14 feet, and the brushless CMCPS630B has a 10-foot pole.

What does brushless mean on the CMCPS630B?

It is a motor design without carbon brushes. Brushless motors are generally more efficient, and Craftsman markets this model for more runtime and better performance.

Can the corded model be used as a normal chainsaw?

Yes. The CMECSP610 is a 2-in-1 tool: remove the extension pole to use it as a handheld chainsaw.

How thick a branch can a Craftsman pole saw cut?

The CMCPS630B lists cuts up to 6 inches with its 8-inch bar. The other two listings do not state a maximum cut size.

Do I need to add oil to the chain?

The corded CMECSP610 has auto-oiling and an oil window, so you top up the reservoir and it oils the chain as it runs. The cordless listings do not describe their oiling system, so check the manual.

More in Tools & Garden