Choosing a SawStop Table Saw for Your Shop
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
SawStop is the table saw brand people mention first when the conversation turns to safety. Its saws carry a patented system that detects when skin touches the spinning blade and stops the blade almost instantly, turning what could be a life-changing injury into something far smaller. That feature is why many first-time woodworkers, and family members buying a big gift for one, start their search with a saw stop table saw. The harder question is which size to buy, because SawStop builds saws for very different spaces, from a small apartment workshop to a dedicated garage shop.
The three models here cover that range in one sentence: the Compact Table Saw is light enough to move and work anywhere, the Contractor Saw is a full-size saw with a mid-length fence for a garage shop, and the Professional Cabinet Saw is a heavy, permanent machine with the longest fence and the most refinement.
SawStop Table Saws Compared
| Model | Saw Type | Motor / Power (as listed) | Fence | Weight |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw | Compact, portable | 15 A, 1650 watts, 4000 rpm | Rack & pinion | 79 pounds |
| SawStop 10-Inch Professional Cabinet Saw (PCS175-TGP236) | Cabinet | 1.75 HP | 36-inch T-Glide | 471.4 pounds |
| SawStop 1.75HP Contractor Saw (CNS175-PFA30) | Contractor | 1.75 HP | 30-inch Premium Fence | Not listed |
How the SawStop Safety Brake Works
Every model here uses the sawstop safety brake, so it is worth understanding before comparing sizes. The blade carries a tiny electrical signal. Wood does not conduct that signal well, but the human body does. When the saw senses the change caused by skin contact, a brake mechanism jams into the blade and stops it. The Professional Cabinet Saw listing puts numbers on it: the blade stops in less than 5 milliseconds and drops below the table. As general knowledge about how these systems work, triggering the brake usually means replacing the brake cartridge and often the blade, so it is a last line of defense, not a replacement for careful habits, push sticks and blade guards.
A few more terms, explained simply. The fence is the long straight guide you slide the wood along; its length sets the widest board you can cut, called the rip capacity. A trunnion is the heavy assembly under the table that holds the motor and blade and lets the blade tilt for angled cuts. The arbor is the shaft the blade mounts on. A cabinet saw has an enclosed base that sits on the floor; a contractor saw is full-size but more open underneath; a compact saw sits on a stand or bench.
SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw for Small Shops and Mobility

Saw Stop
SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw – 15A,120V,60Hz
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw
Best for: Small shops and job-site mobility
Pros
- Stops on contact with skin
- Rack & pinion fence
- Quick tilt with micro adjust
- 79 lb, 2-year warranty
Cons
- Smaller work surface
- No dust collection details listed
The SawStop CTS-120A60 Compact Table Saw is the sawstop compact table saw and the easiest way into the brand. It weighs 79 pounds and measures 27 by 23.5 by 14.13 inches, so it can live on a shelf and come out when needed. The listing describes it as working anywhere, at home or on the job site, with a 10-inch blade and SawStop’s patented Safety System.
The sawstop cts-120a60 runs on a 15-amp, 120-volt circuit (the specs list 110 volts, which is the same household standard) with 1650 watts and 4000 rpm. Its rack and pinion fence adjusts by turning a knob that moves both ends evenly, and the listing says it stays square and is easy to remove, with built-in high and low positions to support different cuts. Quick Tilt lets you set the blade angle fast, and a micro tilt-adjust feature fine-tunes it. It meets CSA standards and carries a two-year manufacturer warranty.
This saw suits first-time woodworkers, DIYers with a small garage or a shared space, and anyone who needs to carry a saw to projects. The listing does not specify rip capacity or dust collection. If you plan to cut full sheets of plywood regularly or want a saw that stays put, the Contractor or Cabinet saw is the better fit.
SAWSTOP 10-Inch Professional Cabinet Saw for a Permanent Shop

Saw Stop
SAWSTOP 10-Inch Professional Cabinet Saw, 1.75-HP, 36-Inch Professional TGlide Fence System (PCS175-TGP236)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
SAWSTOP 10-Inch Professional Cabinet Saw
Best for: Serious hobbyists with a permanent shop
Pros
- 36-inch T-Glide steel fence
- Blade stops under 5 milliseconds
- Gas piston blade elevation
- Control box self-checks
Cons
- 4 lb, not movable easily
- Dust guard sold separately
The SAWSTOP 10-Inch Professional Cabinet Saw is the sawstop professional cabinet saw, model sawstop pcs175 paired with a 36-inch Professional T-Glide fence. At 471.4 pounds and 39.12 by 33 by 34 inches, this is a stationary machine that should be placed once and left there. The heavy-gauge steel fence and rail are built for sure lockdown and square cuts without flexing.
The listing puts its detail into precision: the trunnion and arbor are built for strength and stability, a gas piston makes raising and lowering the blade smooth, and table flatness is measured diagonally with a maximum gap of 0.010 inch. A control box holds the on-off switch, a power paddle and an onboard computer that constantly checks all systems are working. For dust, the listing claims 99% collection when you add the separately sold dust collection blade guard above the table, along with shrouding around the blade below. An overarm dust collection accessory is also sold separately. It lists a 40-tooth blade, a 10-inch blade length and a limited warranty.
A note on the power numbers: the listing gives 1.75 HP and 110 volts but also 3927 watts, and its blade shape reads “Rectangular.” These fields do not line up cleanly, so confirm the electrical requirements on the product page or with an electrician before planning your circuit. This saw suits committed hobbyists and small furniture makers building a permanent shop. Beginners short on space, or buyers who need to move the saw, should look at the Compact or Contractor model.
SAWSTOP 1.75HP Contractor Saw with 30” Premium Fence for Growing Garage Shops

Saw Stop
SAWSTOP 1.75HP Contractor Saw with 30” Premium Fence Assembly (CNS175-PFA30)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
SAWSTOP 1.75HP Contractor Saw with 30”
Best for: Garage shops wanting full-size stability
Pros
- 75HP motor
- 30-inch Premium Fence
- SawStop Safety System
Cons
- Very thin listing details
- Weight and size not listed
The SAWSTOP 1.75HP Contractor Saw with 30” Premium Fence Assembly is the sawstop contractor saw cns175. It sits between the other two: a full-size saw with a 1.75HP motor and the SawStop Safety System, paired with a 30-inch Premium Fence that the listing says gives smooth operation, precise measurement and sure lockdown without deflection.
The listing is thin. It confirms a black color, corded electric power, a high-speed steel blade and a wood surface recommendation, but does not specify weight, dimensions, voltage, dust collection or warranty. As a general rule, contractor saws are lighter than cabinet saws and more open underneath, which is part of why they are popular in home garages. Read the product page carefully for the numbers this listing leaves out.
The contractor saw suits a woodworker who has outgrown a compact saw and wants a bigger table and fence, but does not need the size and weight of the cabinet saw. If you only have a corner to work in, the Compact is still the more practical choice.
How to Choose the Right SawStop Table Saw
Start with space. Measure where the saw will live, including room to feed long boards in front and behind the blade. The Compact fits tight spaces; the Cabinet Saw needs a dedicated spot.
Next, think about mobility. At 79 pounds, the Compact can move between garage and job site. The Cabinet Saw, at 471.4 pounds, stays where it lands. The Contractor Saw’s weight is not listed, so check before planning to move it. If you are building a mobile setup, our guide to a miter saw stand with wheels shows how rolling stands help in a small shop.
Consider cut width. A 36-inch fence handles wider rips than a 30-inch one, which matters for cabinet panels and sheet goods. The Compact’s rip capacity is not listed.
Check your electrical supply. The Compact runs on a standard 15-amp household circuit. The larger saws list 1.75 HP motors; confirm their requirements before buying.
Finally, plan the rest of the shop. A table saw handles long rips; many woodworkers pair it with a miter saw for crosscuts. Our look at a cordless miter saw is a good next read.
FAQ
Which SawStop should I buy as a beginner?
The Compact Table Saw is the easiest start: light, portable, runs on a standard circuit and carries a two-year warranty.
Do all SawStop saws have the safety brake?
Yes. All three listings name the SawStop Safety System that stops the blade on contact with skin.
How fast does the SawStop blade stop?
The Professional Cabinet Saw listing says in less than 5 milliseconds, with the blade dropping below the table.
Is the Cabinet Saw worth the extra size?
For a permanent shop, its 36-inch fence, gas piston elevation and dust collection options add refinement. For small or shared spaces, it is more than most beginners need.
Does the Contractor Saw include dust collection?
The listing does not specify dust collection details, so check the product page.
Can I move a SawStop saw?
The Compact at 79 pounds is designed to move. The Cabinet Saw is stationary.


