DEWALT Brushless Tools: Start with a Combo Kit or a Single Tool?
As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.
DEWALT is one of the most familiar names in cordless tools, and its 20V MAX platform is popular because one battery fits a huge range of tools. Its XR and brushless models are the upgraded tier. So what does brushless mean? A traditional brushed motor uses small carbon brushes that rub against a spinning part to pass along electricity, which creates friction, heat and wear. A brushless motor uses electronics instead, so it wastes less energy, runs cooler and usually gets more work out of each battery charge. DEWALT’s own listings put numbers on that, claiming up to 57% more runtime for its brushless oscillating tool over a brushed version.
The six options below split into three kinds of purchase: large combo kits that build a workshop in one box, a two-tool drill and impact driver starter set, and single tools you add once you already own a battery.
DEWALT Brushless Power Tools Compared
| Model | Type | Tools included | Batteries included | Carry bag |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| DCS356C1 Oscillating Tool Kit | Single tool kit | 1 | 1 | Not listed |
| DCK921P1 9-Tool Kit | Combo kit | 9 plus flashlight | 1 (5Ah) | Not listed |
| DCK1021D2 10-Tool Kit | Combo kit | 10 | 2 (2Ah) | 2 contractor bags |
| DCK277D2 Drill and Impact Driver | Starter combo | 2 | 2 (2Ah) | 1 bag |
| DCS356B Oscillating Multi-Tool | Tool only | 1 | None | Not listed |
| DCW600B Router | Tool only | 1 | None | Not listed |
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool Kit for a Ready-to-Go Multi-Tool
Best for: Woodworkers adding a cordless router
Pros
- Variable-speed dial
- Soft start and electronic brake
- Dual LEDs
Cons
- Tool only, battery needed
- Plastic fixed base
Best for: Existing DEWALT 20V battery owners
Pros
- Up to 20,000 OPM, three speeds
- Two wood cutting blades
- 4 lb weight
Cons
- Tool only, no battery or charger

Dewalt
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver, Power Drill Brushless 2-Tool Power Tool Combo Kit, Includes 2 Batteries, Charger and Bag (DCK277D2)
Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
Best for: First-time DIYers and new homeowners
Pros
- Drill plus impact driver
- Two batteries and a bag
- Compact 7.6-inch length
Cons
- 2Ah batteries run out sooner

Best for: Big kit with extras like speaker
Pros
- Ten tools, two batteries
- Two contractor bags
- Includes light, vacuum and speaker
Cons
- Full tool list not spelled out
- Smaller 2Ah batteries

Best for: Setting up a full home workshop
Pros
- Nine tools plus flashlight
- 5Ah battery
- Brushless saws, grinder and impact wrench
Cons
- Only one battery
- Heavy at 32.4 lbs

Best for: First multi-tool with battery included
Pros
- Battery and charger included
- 3-speed selector
- Tool-free blade changes
- LED light
Cons
- Battery capacity spec is garbled
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Tool kit (DCS356C1) is a brushless oscillating multi-tool packaged with a battery, charger and blades. An oscillating tool moves its blade rapidly back and forth in a tiny arc rather than spinning, which makes it great for cutting a notch in drywall, trimming door casing for new flooring, scraping, or sanding into corners. DEWALT lists common uses as drywall work, detail sanding and cutting laminate flooring.
A 3-speed selector and Dual-Grip variable-speed trigger let you match speed to the job, up to 20,000 oscillations per minute (OPM). The Quick-Change system swaps blades without a wrench, and a universal adaptor accepts most oscillating accessory brands. There is an LED for dark corners, a 3-pound weight, a one-hour charge time and a 3-year limited warranty. The listing’s battery capacity entry reads “40 amp hours,” which is clearly a data error, so check the product page for the real rating.
This suits someone who does not yet own DEWALT batteries and wants one versatile tool for renovation jobs. If you already have 20V batteries, the tool-only version further down is the same tool without the extras.
DEWALT 20V MAX 5Ah 9-Tool Kit for a Complete Workshop
The DEWALT 20V MAX 5Ah combo kit (DCK921P1) packs nine power tools plus a flashlight, one 5Ah battery and a charger. You get a 1/2-inch drill driver (DCD777) rated at 340 unit watts out, a 1/4-inch impact driver (DCF787) with 1,500 in-lbs of torque, a brushless reciprocating saw with a 1-1/8-inch stroke, a brushless 6-1/2-inch circular saw that DEWALT says cuts a 2×4 at 45 degrees in one pass, the 3-speed oscillating tool, a brushless angle grinder with a kickback brake, a random orbital sander with an 8,000 to 12,000 OPM dial, and a compact brushless impact wrench.
The kickback brake on the grinder is worth explaining: if the wheel pinches or binds, the tool stops it hard to reduce the jolt back toward you, a helpful safety feature for beginners. The kit weighs a listed 32.4 pounds and carries a 3-year limited warranty, 1 year of free service and a 90-day money-back guarantee. The listing does not say the drill or impact driver are brushless, and the 5Ah battery is the only one included, so you will be swapping it between tools. A 5Ah pack holds more charge than a 2Ah one, which helps.
This is for a new homeowner or serious DIYer who wants to cut, drill, grind and sand from day one. If you only need to drill and drive screws, the two-tool kit covers that with far less to store. For more on circular saws in this range, see our DEWALT circular saw guide.
DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo 10-Tool Kit for Extra Gear
The DEWALT 20V MAX Power Tool Combo kit (DCK1021D2) includes ten 20V MAX tools, two 2Ah batteries, one charger and two large contractor bags. The listing does not name all ten tools in one list, but its features describe a compact drill at 7.6 inches front to back, a DCS381 reciprocating saw with keyless blade clamp, a DCL040 LED work light that hooks in place, a grinder with tool-free wheel release, a Bluetooth speaker that runs on DEWALT 12V or 20V MAX batteries, and a vacuum with a front nozzle and extendable hose.
The title calls it a brushless combo kit, but the listing does not say which tools are brushless. Specs list 531 torque (units given oddly) and 1,500 rpm without saying which tool that refers to. All tools work with any DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger.
This suits someone who likes having a jobsite speaker, light and vacuum alongside the core cutting and drilling tools, and two batteries make swapping easier. The 9-tool kit has a bigger battery and more tools clearly labeled brushless.
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver for Beginners
The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver kit (DCK277D2) is the classic starter set. It pairs the DCD777 1/2-inch drill driver with the DCF787 1/4-inch impact driver, two 2Ah compact batteries, a charger and a bag. The title describes it as a brushless kit. A drill is best for making holes and light screw driving, while an impact driver adds rapid hammering bursts to drive long screws and lag bolts with less effort, rated here at 1,500 in-lbs of torque.
The drill is 7.6 inches front to back, has a variable speed trigger, an ergonomic grip and an LED with a 20-second delay after you release the trigger. The impact driver has a quick-release hex chuck. Listed max speed is 2,800 rpm. Warranty coverage includes a 3-year limited warranty, 1-year free service contract and 90-day money-back guarantee.
This is the best gift for a first apartment or first house: hanging shelves, building furniture and small repairs. Once you have its batteries, you can add single tools like the oscillating tool or router. Our guide to DEWALT 20V tools explains how the battery system grows with you.
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool for Battery Owners
The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Oscillating Multi-Tool (DCS356B) is the tool-only version of the oscillating tool in product one. It comes with two wood cutting blades but no battery or charger. Its three speed settings are 0 to 13,000, 0 to 17,000 and 0 to 20,000 OPM, and it keeps the brushless motor, Dual-Grip trigger, Quick-Change system, universal adaptor and LED.
It weighs 2.4 pounds and measures about 12 x 6.6 x 3 inches. Recommended uses include cutting, sanding and grinding. The listing does not state a warranty.
Choose this if you already own a DEWALT 20V battery from a drill kit. If you do not, the DCS356C1 kit saves buying a battery separately.
DEWALT 20V Max XR Cordless Router for Woodworking
The DEWALT 20V Max XR Cordless Router (DCW600B) is a brushless compact router, sold tool only. A router spins a shaped bit at high speed to round over table edges, cut grooves or trim laminate. A variable-speed dial matches speed to the bit, a depth adjustment ring sets height quickly, and dual LEDs light the work through a plastic fixed base.
A soft start motor eases up to speed instead of jerking, electronic feedback holds speed during a cut, and an electronic brake slows the bit faster after shutoff. A release clamp speeds bit and base changes. It weighs 2.64 pounds. A lithium-ion battery is required and not included, and the listing does not specify the maximum speed or collet size.
This fits a hobby woodworker who already has 20V batteries. It is a specialist tool, so beginners are better served starting with the drill kit.
How to Choose the Right DEWALT Brushless Tool
Start by checking what you already own. If there are no DEWALT batteries in the house, pick a kit with batteries included: the drill and impact driver set, one of the combo kits, or the DCS356C1 oscillating kit. If you already have batteries, tool-only models like the DCS356B and DCW600B save money and space.
Next, match the kit to your projects. Hanging shelves and assembling furniture need only a drill and impact driver. Renovation, decking and metal work call for saws and a grinder, which the 9-tool and 10-tool kits include.
Look at batteries. The 9-tool kit has one 5Ah battery with longer runtime per charge, while the 10-tool and 2-tool kits include two smaller 2Ah batteries so one can charge while you use the other.
Finally, think about storage and extras. The 10-tool kit comes with two bags and adds a speaker, light and vacuum. For a broader overview of cordless options, see our page on DEWALT battery operated power tools.
FAQ
What is the difference between brushless and brushed DEWALT tools?
Brushless motors use electronics instead of carbon brushes, which reduces friction and heat. DEWALT says its brushless oscillating tool gives up to 57% more runtime than a brushed one.
Do tool-only models include a battery?
No. The DCS356B and DCW600B are tool only and need a DEWALT 20V MAX battery and charger bought separately.
Which DEWALT kit is best for a first-time homeowner?
The DCK277D2 drill and impact driver kit covers most household jobs, includes two batteries and is easy to store.
Are the batteries shared across all these tools?
Yes. All six are 20V MAX tools, and the 10-tool kit listing confirms its tools work with all DEWALT 20V MAX batteries and chargers.
What does XR mean on DEWALT tools?
XR marks DEWALT’s premium line. In these listings, XR models are the brushless oscillating tools and the router.


