Skip to content
BuyShelf.net One clear way in to every guide

Tools & Garden

DEWALT Drill and Impact Driver Combos Explained

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

DEWALT is the yellow-and-black tool brand you see on job sites and in garages everywhere, and its 20V MAX cordless combo kits are one of the most popular ways to start a tool collection. A combo kit bundles two tools that share batteries: a drill/driver for making holes and driving screws, and an impact driver for driving long screws and bolts with extra force. The impact driver adds quick rotational hammer blows, so it sinks a 3-inch deck screw without twisting your wrist. With both tools, you can keep a drill bit in one and a screwdriver bit in the other, which saves a lot of bit swapping.

The six kits below differ mainly in tool size (compact and ATOMIC versus full-power XR), whether the drill is a hammer drill for masonry, the motor type and the battery size, measured in amp-hours (Ah).

DEWALT Drill and Impact Combo Sets Compared

Kit Drill type Impact torque listed Batteries Condition
DCK240C2 Compact drill/driver (DCD771) Not listed 2, Ah not listed New
DCK277D2 Brushless drill/driver (DCD777) 1500 in-lb 2 x 2.0Ah New
DCK250QQ2 XR 2-speed hammer drill (DCD806) 1825 in-lb 2 x 4Ah POWERPACK New
DCK225D2R ATOMIC Compact brushless drill/driver (DCD794) 1700 in-lb 2Ah kit Renewed
DCK203P2 Brushless hammer drill (DCD798) Not listed 2 x 5Ah New
DCK2101QQ2 XR 3-speed hammer drill (DCD1007) 1825 in-lb 2 x 4Ah POWERPACK New

A few terms before the details. Amp-hours (Ah) describe battery capacity: a 5Ah battery runs roughly two and a half times longer than a 2Ah battery but weighs more. Brushless motors use electronics instead of small carbon brushes, which generally means better efficiency and runtime. A hammer drill adds a pounding action for drilling into brick and concrete. ATOMIC is DEWALT’s compact series, built small and light, while XR is its higher-performance line.

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver DCK240C2 for a First Toolkit

Best for: Pros wanting top hammer power

Pros

  • 3-speed DCD1007 hammer drill
  • Up to 275 holes per charge
  • 1825 in-lb, 3400 rpm impact
  • Side handle, bag, belt hooks

Cons

  • Heaviest at 12.6 lbs
  • Some spec lines garbled

Best for: Long jobs needing big batteries

Pros

  • Brushless hammer drill, 404 UWO
  • Two 5Ah batteries
  • Charger and contractor bag

Cons

  • Impact torque not listed

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit, Includes 2 x 4ah POWERPACK Batteries and a Charger (DCK250QQ2)

Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill Cordless Power Tool Combo Kit, Includes 2 x 4ah POWERPACK Batteries and a Charger (DCK250QQ2)

8.8/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver

Best for: Heavy DIY and masonry drilling

Pros

  • 2-speed hammer drill
  • 1825 in-lb impact torque
  • Two 4Ah POWERPACK batteries

Cons

  • Heavy at 4.84 kg
  • Bag not listed
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill

Best for: DIYers wanting brushless on a budget-size kit

Pros

  • Brushless 2-tool kit
  • 1500 in-lb impact torque
  • Two 2.0Ah batteries
  • Compact 7.6 in drill

Cons

  • No hammer drill mode
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill

Best for: First toolkit for home repairs

Pros

  • Light 2.8 lb impact driver
  • LED lights with 20-second delay
  • Ratcheting 1/2 in chuck
  • 2 batteries, charger, bag

Cons

  • Battery Ah not listed
  • Brushless motor not stated

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver kit DCK240C2 is the classic starter set. It pairs the DCD771 compact 1/2-inch drill/driver, 7.5 inches long and 3.6 pounds, with a 1/4-inch impact driver that is 5.55 inches long and weighs 2.8 pounds. The description names the impact driver as DCF88M2, which looks like a typo in the listing, so go by the kit number when comparing.

The drill has a 1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck that grips bits tightly. The impact driver takes 1/4-inch hex bits with one-handed loading. Both tools have LED work lights that stay on for 20 seconds after you let go of the trigger. The kit includes two 20V MAX lithium-ion batteries, a charger and a storage bag, with a 3-year limited warranty. The listing does not specify battery amp-hours or whether the motors are brushless.

This kit suits new homeowners and gift-givers looking for a reliable first set for shelves, furniture assembly and small repairs. If you want brushless motors and a clearly stated battery size, the DCK277D2 is the next step up.

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and Impact Driver DCK277D2 for Brushless Everyday Use

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill and impact driver kit DCK277D2 is a brushless 2-tool set with the DCD777 1/2-inch drill/driver and the DCF787 1/4-inch impact driver. The drill is a compact 7.6 inches front to back, with an ergonomic grip, a variable-speed trigger for gentle starts and an LED with a 20-second delay. A quick-release hex chuck makes bit changes easy.

The specs list 1500 in-lb of torque and a top speed of 2800 rpm. Torque is twisting force, measured here in inch-pounds, and higher numbers drive bigger screws. The kit includes two 2.0Ah compact batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. Warranty is listed as a 3-year limited warranty, 1-year free service contract and 90-day money-back guarantee.

This kit suits DIYers who want brushless efficiency for weekend projects. It does not include a hammer drill, so for drilling into brick, look at the DCK203P2 or the XR hammer kits. To go with any of these kits, our DEWALT bit sets guide helps you pick drill and driver bits.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and Hammer Drill DCK250QQ2 for Heavy DIY

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Impact Driver and hammer drill kit DCK250QQ2 steps into the XR range. The DCD806 is a 2-speed hammer drill that DEWALT calls its most powerful 20V MAX hammer drill, up to 109% more powerful, with speeds of 0 to 650 and 0 to 2,000 rpm. Low speed gives control and high torque for big holes; high speed drills small holes fast.

The DCF845 impact driver has a brushless motor, 1825 in-lbs of torque and 3400 rpm, and DEWALT says it has 30% more torque for large-diameter screws. Power comes from two 20V MAX XR POWERPACK 4Ah batteries with a charger. The kit weight is listed as 4.84 kg, and the listing does not mention a bag.

This kit suits serious DIYers building decks, hanging heavy shelving on brick or tackling renovations. If you need even more drilling power and a side handle, the DCK2101QQ2 steps up again.

DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. Combo Kit for Tight Spaces


DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. Cordless Drill Driver and 1/4 in. Cordless Impact Driver Combo Kit (2 Ah) (Renewed)

High score Our score: 9.6/10

Dewalt

DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. Cordless Drill Driver and 1/4 in. Cordless Impact Driver Combo Kit (2 Ah) (Renewed)

9.6/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1

Best for: Tight spaces and lighter hands

Pros

  • ATOMIC compact series
  • 88 in drill head length
  • 1700 in-lb impact torque
  • Onboard LEDs

Cons

  • Renewed, not new
  • Battery details thin

The DEWALT DCK225D2R 20V MAX ATOMIC 1/2 in. drill driver and 1/4 in. impact driver kit is part of the ATOMIC compact series. It is sold as a renewed item, meaning a pre-owned or returned unit that has been inspected and restored, rather than brand new.

The DCD794 is DEWALT’s shortest 20V MAX drill driver, with a tool head length of just 5.88 inches, and delivers up to 16% more drilling power per the listing. The DCF809 impact driver is 5.1 inches long and delivers 1,700 in-lbs of torque. Both tools are brushless and have onboard LEDs. The title lists a 2Ah kit, though the listing does not break down battery count or the charger.

This kit suits people working in cabinets, under sinks or between studs, and anyone who prefers lighter tools. If you prefer to buy new, the DCK277D2 is a similar size class. For more on picking the right impact driver, see our DEWALT impact driver with battery guide.

DEWALT 20V MAX 2-Tool Hammer Drill and Impact Combo Kit DCK203P2 for Long Runtime

The DEWALT 20V MAX 2-Tool Hammer Drill and impact combo kit DCK203P2 pairs the DCD798 brushless 1/2-inch hammer drill with the DCF840 impact driver. The hammer drill delivers up to 404 UWO (unit watts out, DEWALT’s measure of output power) for drilling into wood, metal and masonry, and the impact driver is designed for large-diameter fasteners.

The standout is the batteries: two 5Ah DCB205 packs, the largest capacity here, for extended runtime. The kit includes a charger and a contractor bag. The listing does not state the impact driver’s torque, and one spec line reads “batteries required” rather than included, though the features and component list both name the batteries.

This kit suits homeowners and trades who run tools for hours at a time. For the lightest set, the ATOMIC kit is far smaller.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer Drill and Impact Combo Kit DCK2101QQ2 for Top Power

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR 3-Speed Hammer drill and impact combo kit DCK2101QQ2 features the DCD1007, which DEWALT calls its most powerful hammer drill, with up to 275 holes per charge. A third speed gives more options between slow, high-torque drilling and fast drilling.

The DCF845 impact driver is brushless and listed at 1825 in-lb and 3,400 rpm; one feature line says “4.5 cm lbs,” which appears to be a typo. The kit includes two DCB2104 4Ah batteries, a charger, a side handle for control, two belt hooks and a bag. It weighs 12.6 pounds, and one spec line oddly mentions AA batteries, which does not apply to this kit.

This kit suits contractors and ambitious DIYers who drill into concrete often. For lighter everyday jobs, it is more tool than most people need. For our broader comparison, see the DEWALT 20V drill and impact driver combo kit guide.

How to Choose the Right DEWALT Combo Kit

Decide whether you need a hammer drill. For wood, drywall and furniture, a drill/driver is enough. For brick, concrete block or masonry, choose the DCK250QQ2, DCK203P2 or DCK2101QQ2.

Match battery size to your jobs. 2Ah batteries keep tools light, 4Ah suits bigger projects, and 5Ah gives the longest runtime.

Think about size and weight. The ATOMIC and DCK240C2 kits are compact; the XR kits bring more power and heft.

Check condition. The ATOMIC kit here is renewed; all others are listed as new.

FAQ

What is the difference between ATOMIC and XR?

ATOMIC is DEWALT’s compact series focused on small size and light weight. XR is its higher-performance line with more power.

Do I need an impact driver if I have a drill?

A drill can drive screws, but an impact driver does it faster and with less strain on long screws and bolts.

Can I use batteries between these kits?

All six kits are 20V MAX, and DEWALT describes them as part of the same battery system.

Which DEWALT combo is best for a beginner?

The DCK240C2 or DCK277D2 cover everyday tasks without extra weight.

What does 5Ah mean?

It is the battery capacity. Higher numbers mean longer runtime between charges.

More in Tools & Garden