Skip to content
BuyShelf.net One clear way in to every guide

Tools & Garden

DEWALT Brushless Cordless Drill Guide: ATOMIC, XR or Starter Kit?

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

DEWALT is one of the most familiar power tool brands in garages and on job sites, and its 20V MAX battery platform is the heart of its cordless range. Any 20V MAX battery clicks into any 20V MAX tool, so the first drill you buy often decides which batteries you will own for years. That makes choosing the right DEWALT brushless cordless drill a bigger decision than it first looks, especially if you are buying for someone else.

The six drills below differ in package and power: two ready-to-go kits with batteries (DCD777D1 and the DCK277D2 combo), two high-power XR tool-only models (the DCD801B drill and DCD806B hammer drill), the compact ATOMIC DCD794B tool-only, and a renewed DCD793D1R kit.

DEWALT Brushless Cordless Drills Compared

Model Battery Included Max Speed Hammer Mode Condition
DCD777D1 Drill Driver Set Yes, one 2.0Ah 1,500 rpm No New
DCK277D2 Drill and Impact Combo Yes, two 2.0Ah Not listed per tool No New
DCD801B XR Drill/Driver No (tool only) 2,000 rpm No New
DCD806B XR Hammer Drill No (tool only) 2,000 rpm Yes New
ATOMIC DCD794B No (tool only) Not listed Not listed New
DCD793D1R Kit Yes (size listed two ways) 1,650 rpm No Renewed

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver for First-Time Owners


DEWALT 20V MAX XR® Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Hammer Drill (Tool Only) (DCD806B)

High score Our score: 9.2/10

Dewalt

DEWALT 20V MAX XR® Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Hammer Drill (Tool Only) (DCD806B)

9.2/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless

Best for: Drilling into brick and concrete

Pros

  • Hammer mode
  • ANTI-ROTATION System
  • Metal ratcheting chuck

Cons

  • Tool only, no battery
  • Heavier-duty than most homes need
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless
DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless

Best for: Owners of DEWALT batteries wanting more power

Pros

  • Up to 2,000 rpm
  • ANTI-ROTATION System
  • 70-lumen 3-position LED
  • Up to 175 holes per charge

Cons

  • Tool only, no battery
  • Not for masonry
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill

Best for: Gift kits covering drilling and screw driving

Pros

  • Drill plus impact driver
  • Two batteries and charger
  • Contractor bag included

Cons

  • Torque figure not tool-specific
  • More than casual users need
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver
DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver

Best for: First-time drill owners wanting a ready kit

Pros

  • Battery and charger included
  • Compact 7.6-inch length
  • LED with 20-second delay
  • 3-year limited warranty

Cons

  • Single 2.0Ah battery
  • Not a hammer drill

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Driver set (DCD777D1) is the simplest way into DEWALT’s cordless range: the drill, a 2.0Ah battery and a charger in one box. A “brushless” motor uses electronics instead of small carbon brushes to spin, which DEWALT says gives more run time than brushed motors and helps the tool last longer.

It is 7.6 inches from front to back, has a 1/2-inch single-sleeve ratcheting chuck (the jaws that grip the bit), a 2-speed transmission topping out at 1,500 rpm, and a listed maximum torque of 53.1 Nm with 340 UWO (unit watts out, DEWALT’s power measure). Two speeds matter because the low setting gives more twisting force for driving screws, while the high setting spins faster for drilling holes. An LED stays on for 20 seconds after you release the trigger, and it carries a 3-year limited warranty.

This suits a first apartment, a new homeowner or a gift for someone hanging shelves and assembling furniture. If they will drive lots of long screws, the combo kit below adds an impact driver.

DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill Combo for Drilling and Driving

The DEWALT 20V MAX Cordless Drill combo kit (DCK277D2) pairs the same DCD777 1/2-inch drill/driver with a compact DCF787 1/4-inch impact driver, plus two 2.0Ah batteries, a charger and a contractor bag. An impact driver adds quick bursts of rotational force, which makes driving long screws and lag bolts much easier than using a drill alone.

The features repeat the drill’s compact 7.6-inch length, comfort grip, 20-second LED delay and variable speed trigger, and mention a quick-release hex chuck, which belongs to the impact driver. The specs list 1,500 in-lb of torque and 2,800 rpm without saying which tool those figures apply to. Warranty wording mentions a 3-year limited warranty, a 1-year free service contract and a 90-day money back guarantee. Two batteries also mean one can charge while the other works.

This is the pick for a gift that covers nearly every home project from day one. If the recipient already owns an impact driver, the single drill set is enough. Our DEWALT drill and impact driver combo kit guide goes deeper on this style of kit.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Drill/Driver for Maximum Power

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill/Driver (DCD801B) is described as DEWALT’s most powerful 20V MAX 2-speed drill driver, up to 109% more powerful. It is tool only, which means no battery or charger in the box.

Its 2-speed transmission runs 0-650 and 0-2,000 rpm, and the ANTI-ROTATION System senses if the drill suddenly twists (for example when a large bit jams) and shuts it down, with a red LED showing it has engaged. That is a meaningful safety feature for newer users, because a jammed bit can wrench a powerful drill in your hand. You also get a 70-lumen, 3-position LED, a 1/2-inch metal ratcheting chuck, up to 175 holes per charge (the battery used is not stated), and Tool Connect chip readiness for the DEWALT Site Manager app, with the chip sold separately.

This suits someone who already owns 20V MAX batteries and wants serious power for big bits. First-time buyers should budget for a battery and charger or choose a kit.

DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless Hammer Drill for Masonry

The DEWALT 20V MAX XR Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Hammer Drill (DCD806B) shares the DCD801B’s features: up to 109% more power, the ANTI-ROTATION System, 0-650 and 0-2,000 rpm speeds, the 70-lumen LED, a metal ratcheting chuck and up to 175 holes per charge. The difference is an integrated hammer mode.

A hammer drill adds a rapid forward tapping action while it spins, which helps the bit chip into brick, block and concrete. That is useful for hanging a TV on a brick wall or fitting anchors into a basement slab. You switch hammer mode off for wood and metal, so it still works as a regular drill. It is tool only and works with 20V MAX batteries and chargers.

It suits homeowners with masonry to drill. If all your work is in wood and drywall, the DCD801B or a kit is simpler.

DEWALT ATOMIC 20-Volt MAX Brushless Cordless for Compact Work

Best for: Existing 20V MAX battery owners

Pros

  • ATOMIC compact line
  • Brushless motor
  • 1/2-inch chuck

Cons

  • Tool only
  • Listing gives almost no specs

The DEWALT ATOMIC 20-Volt MAX Brushless Cordless 1/2 in. Drill Driver (DCD794B) belongs to DEWALT’s ATOMIC line. The listing repeats only its title: brushless, 20-Volt MAX, 1/2-inch chuck, tool only. It does not specify speed, torque, length, weight or LED details.

Because it is tool only, you will need a 20V MAX battery and charger. It suits someone already on the DEWALT platform who wants the ATOMIC model. Buyers who want documented specs will find far more detail on the DCD801B or DCD777D1 listings. For the broader range, see our DEWALT brushless tools roundup.

DEWALT DCD793D1R 20V MAX Brushless Kit for Renewed Value

Best for: Value-minded buyers fine with renewed tools

Pros

  • 38-inch head length
  • 404 UWO power
  • Battery, charger and bag

Cons

  • Renewed, not new
  • Battery size listed two ways

The DEWALT DCD793D1R 20V MAX Brushless 1/2 in. Cordless Drill Driver Kit is sold as Renewed through Amazon Renewed, so it is a pre-owned or returned unit that has been inspected, not a brand new tool.

It is compact, with a 6.38-inch tool head length, which DEWALT says is over 2 inches shorter, 404 UWO of power (up to 16% more, per DEWALT), up to 1,650 rpm, a 1/2-inch ratcheting chuck and an LED. It comes with a battery, a charger and a kit bag, but the listing contradicts itself on battery size: the features say 2Ah while the description says 1.5Ah. Check the offer details if runtime matters.

This suits careful buyers who are comfortable with renewed tools and want a short drill for tight cabinets. For a gift, a new DCD777D1 set avoids questions about condition.

How to Choose the Right DEWALT Brushless Drill

Tool only or kit. “Tool only” means no battery or charger. If you have no DEWALT batteries, choose the DCD777D1, the DCK277D2 combo or the renewed DCD793D1R. If the person already has 20V MAX batteries from another DEWALT tool, a tool-only drill is a smart way to add to their collection.

Drill or hammer drill. A standard drill handles wood, metal and drywall. Only the DCD806B adds hammer mode for masonry.

Power needs. For furniture, shelves and small repairs, the DCD777D1 is plenty. The XR models suit large holes, thick lumber and heavier work.

Size in the hand. The renewed DCD793D1R lists a 6.38-inch head length and the DCD777D1 7.6 inches, both short enough for working between studs or inside cabinets.

Add an impact driver. If you drive many long screws, the combo kit is worth it, or pair a drill with a separate DEWALT 20V cordless impact driver.

FAQ

Which DEWALT drill should I buy as a gift?

The DCD777D1 set is the safest single-tool gift because it includes a battery and charger. The DCK277D2 combo is the bigger all-in-one gift.

What does brushless mean on a drill?

It means the motor uses electronic control instead of carbon brushes. DEWALT says this gives more run time and better durability.

Can I use one DEWALT battery on all these drills?

Yes. All six are 20V MAX tools, so they share the same battery platform.

Do the XR drills come with a battery?

No. The DCD801B and DCD806B are tool only; batteries and chargers are sold separately.

What is the difference between a drill and an impact driver?

A drill has a chuck that grips round or hex bits and is best for making holes. An impact driver takes 1/4-inch hex bits and adds rotational bursts, which makes it better at driving long screws.

Is a renewed DEWALT drill a good idea?

It can be for experienced buyers. It is not new, and the listing’s battery size is inconsistent, so confirm the details first.

More in Tools & Garden