Skip to content
BuyShelf.net One clear way in to every guide

Power & Outdoors

EcoFlow Power Stations Explained: Picking the Right DELTA or River

As Amazon Associates, we earn from qualifying purchases. This means we may receive a small commission at no extra cost to you if you click through and make a purchase.

EcoFlow is one of the best-known makers of portable power stations, the rechargeable battery units that run lights, fridges, laptops and even power tools with no gas engine, no fumes and very little noise. Its lineup splits into two families: the DELTA series, which is built for home backup and RVs, and the smaller River series, which is built for camping and desk backup. If you are watching for an EcoFlow portable power station on sale, or choosing one as a gift for someone who worries about blackouts, the model names can blur together fast, so this guide sorts them by what each one does best.

The six picks below run from the compact 858Wh River 3 Max Plus kit up to the 3600Wh DELTA Pro, with three DELTA 3 models between them and one DELTA 2 Max extra battery that adds storage to an existing station rather than working on its own.

EcoFlow Power Stations Compared

Model Capacity AC Output Expandable Weight
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max 2048Wh 2400W (3400W X-Boost) Not listed Not listed
EF ECOFLOW DELTA Pro 3600Wh 3600Wh 3600W (4500W X-Boost) Up to 25kWh Not listed
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Plus 2048Wh 3000W (3800W X-Boost) Up to 10kWh 49 lbs
EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Ultra 3072Wh 3600W (7200W surge) Not listed 72.1 lbs
EF ECOFLOW River 3 Max Plus 858Wh (286Wh + 572Wh) 600W (1200W X-Boost) Yes, kit includes extra battery 8.4 kg
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Extra Battery 2048Wh None on its own Adds to DELTA 2 Max Not listed

Watt-Hours, Output Watts and LiFePO4 in Plain Words

Watt-hours (Wh) tell you how much energy the battery stores, like the size of a water tank. A 2048Wh station can run a 100W load for roughly 20 hours before losses, while an 858Wh station runs the same load for around 8. Output watts (W) tell you how much power can flow at once, like the width of the tap. A microwave or space heater may need 1000 to 1500W, so a 600W station cannot run it no matter how full the battery is.

X-Boost is EcoFlow’s feature for running some higher-wattage devices, such as heaters or kettles, by lowering the voltage slightly so the device draws less. It works well for heating elements but is not the same as true extra output for every appliance. LiFePO4, also written LFP, is a battery chemistry known for long life and stability; the listings here rate it for about 10 years of daily use. UPS switchover means that when the wall power fails, the station takes over in under 10 milliseconds, fast enough that a computer or router usually never notices.

EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Portable for Everyday Home Backup

Best for: Existing DELTA 2 Max owners adding capacity

Pros

  • Adds 2048Wh
  • LFP with 3000+ cycles
  • Stack two for 6144Wh total

Cons

  • Needs a DELTA 2 Max to work
  • Not a standalone power station

EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Ultra 3072Wh Power Station with XT60 Solar Cable

EF Ecoflow

EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Ultra 3072Wh Power Station with XT60 Solar Cable

8.6/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Ultra 3072Wh

Best for: Quiet apartment and whole-day backup

Pros

  • 3072Wh LiFePO4
  • 3600W output, 7200W surge
  • 25dB under load
  • XT60 solar cable included

Cons

  • 1 lbs
  • Only four charging methods
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Portable
EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Portable

Best for: Home backup plus occasional RV trips

Pros

  • 2048Wh LFP battery
  • 2400W output, 3400W X-Boost
  • 0-80% in about 1.13 hours
  • Under 10ms switchover

Cons

  • Weight not listed
  • Not expandable per listing

The EF ECOFLOW DELTA 3 Max Portable power station stores 2048Wh in an LFP battery and delivers 2400W of output, rising to 3400W in X-Boost mode. The listing says it can run fridges, microwaves and power tools, and it recharges from 0 to 80% in about 1.13 hours using X-Stream charging.

It switches over in under 10ms for home backup, which the listing says protects computers and medical devices, runs quietly and is rated for 10 years of daily use. The EcoFlow app shows real-time energy use and lets you schedule charging. The listing does not specify its weight, expansion options or the full list of outlets.

The EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max suits a household that wants reliable backup for a fridge, router and lights, with the option to take it to a campsite. If you want to add batteries later, the DELTA 3 Max Plus lists expansion up to 10kWh.

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh DELTA Pro for Whole-Home Resilience

Best for: Home office UPS and weekend camping

Pros

  • 858Wh with included extra battery
  • 7 outlets, 600W steady
  • 30dB and compact
  • IP54 battery protection

Cons

  • 600W output limits big appliances
  • Title wattage conflicts with features

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA 3 Max Plus, 2048Wh, 3000W Output

High score Our score: 9.2/10

EF Ecoflow

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA 3 Max Plus, 2048Wh, 3000W Output

9.2/10Our score, based on listed specifications and buyer feedback

See it on Amazon

Price and specifications are read from the Amazon product page and can change.

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA

Best for: Expandable backup that still travels

Pros

  • 2048Wh, expandable to 10kWh
  • 3000W output, 3800W X-Boost
  • 80% charge in 43 minutes
  • Under 10ms switchover

Cons

  • 49 lbs
  • Listing text mentions another model
EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh
EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh

Best for: Serious home backup and job sites

Pros

  • 3600Wh, expandable to 25kWh
  • 3600W AC, 4500W X-Boost
  • 15 outputs
  • Five ways to charge

Cons

  • Weight not listed
  • Overkill for camping

The EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station 3600Wh DELTA Pro is the largest station here. It stores 3600Wh in an LFP battery and delivers 3600W, up to 4500W with X-Boost, or 7200W with two units paired. With extra batteries or Smart Generators, capacity expands from 3.6kWh up to 25kWh.

It has 15 output methods. Charging takes about 1.8 hours from a 240V outlet at 3000W, 2.7 hours from a standard wall outlet at 1800W, or 2.8 hours with four 400W solar panels. The listing names five charging methods, including EV charging stations, solar, wall, a Smart Generator and a car outlet. App control works over Wi-Fi or Bluetooth. The listing does not specify weight, and some specifications, such as a 4-stroke engine type, are clearly copied from generator listings and do not apply.

The EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3600Wh suits homeowners who want long outages covered, including well pumps or large appliances, and contractors who need power on job sites. It is too much for weekend camping. For expansion ideas, see our EcoFlow extra battery guide.

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA 3 Max Plus for Growing Needs

The EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station DELTA 3 Max Plus shares the 2048Wh capacity of the DELTA 3 Max but raises output to 3000W, with 3800W in X-Boost mode. It reaches 80% charge in 43 minutes and offers five charging methods: AC wall, solar, car, Smart Generator, and solar plus car together.

It expands from 2kWh to 10kWh with EcoFlow extra batteries, switches over in under 10ms, runs quietly and uses an LFP battery rated for 10 years of daily use. It weighs 49 lbs. One listing line refers to a different EcoFlow model name, which looks like a copy error; the title and specifications describe the DELTA 3 Max Plus.

This model suits buyers who want DELTA 3 Max-level portability now and the option to grow into longer backup later. For the most capacity in a single unit without add-ons, the Delta 3 Ultra holds 3072Wh.

EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Ultra 3072Wh for Quiet, Long Backup

The EF ECOFLOW Delta 3 Ultra 3072Wh station delivers 3600W continuous output with a 7200W surge and runs at just 25dB under load, which the listing compares to a whisper. It includes an XT60 solar cable for connecting panels.

It switches over in under 10ms, charges four ways (wall, solar, car and Smart Generator) and uses an LFP battery with an EV-grade CTC structure and 24/7 battery protection, rated for 10 years of daily use. It weighs 72.1 lbs and measures 24.6 x 12.9 x 15.6 inches. The listing does not specify expansion options.

The EcoFlow DELTA 3 Ultra suits apartment dwellers who need quiet overnight backup and RV owners who park it in one place. At 72.1 lbs, it is not something to carry far.

EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 3 Max Plus for Desks and Campsites

The EF ECOFLOW Portable Power Station River 3 Max Plus kit combines a River 3 Plus with 286Wh and an EB600 extra battery with 572Wh, for 858Wh in total. The extra battery clips on with Pogo Pin connectors. It delivers a steady 600W with 1200W X-Boost; the title’s 990W figure does not match the features, so rely on the 600W figure.

It has 7 outlets, including 3 UPS-supported AC outlets, 2 USB-A, a fast USB-C and a car output, plus a built-in light. It switches over in under 10ms and ships with a UPS communication cable so a PC can save data automatically on low battery. AC charging takes about 1 hour, solar about 1.5 hours with 220W input. The LFP battery is rated for 3000 cycles, it has IP54 battery protection and it runs at 30dB. The box includes a 5-year service term.

The EcoFlow River 3 Max Plus suits a home office, gaming setup or weekend camper. For fridges and microwaves, step up to a DELTA.

EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Power Station Extra Battery for Existing Owners

The EF ECOFLOW DELTA 2 Max Power Station Extra Battery is not a standalone power station. It adds 2048Wh to a DELTA 2 Max, and two of them bring the system to 6144Wh. It uses LFP chemistry rated for 3000+ cycles and 10 years of daily use. Several specifications, such as engine displacement, are clearly errors.

It suits someone who already owns a DELTA 2 Max. For other add-on options, see our guide to EcoFlow extra batteries.

How to Choose the Right EcoFlow

Camping and desks: River 3 Max Plus. Everyday home backup: DELTA 3 Max or DELTA 3 Max Plus. Long, quiet backup: Delta 3 Ultra. Whole-home resilience: DELTA Pro. More storage for a DELTA 2 Max: the extra battery.

Check the output watts of your largest appliance first, then estimate hours of use to pick capacity.

FAQ

What is the difference between EcoFlow DELTA vs River?

DELTA models are larger, with 2048Wh to 3600Wh and 2400W to 3600W output. The River here offers 858Wh and 600W for lighter loads.

Which EcoFlow to buy for a fridge during outages?

The DELTA 3 Max or DELTA 3 Max Plus handles fridges and microwaves according to their listings.

Can the DELTA 2 Max extra battery run devices alone?

No. It must connect to a DELTA 2 Max.

Which EcoFlow is quietest?

The Delta 3 Ultra lists 25dB under load.

Related reading: ecoflow gas generator.

More in Power & Outdoors